top of page

Advice on Helping Houseplants Thrive in Winter

Winter is such a special, magical time for me. Snow, holidays, family get togethers and so much more make this season my favorite by far. However, winter is definitely not a plants favorite time of year. While many plants go dormant this time of year and their growing season drastically slows down or completely stops, it's still important that during this time plants receive essential nutrients and support. Especially in households with cold winters, and dry air, winter can turn any thriving plant into a pile of leaves if neglected.


In the Northeastern part of the United Sates, which is where I currently live, households are very dry due to coal/wood fire heating elements and brisk outside air. Living in this environment has led me to research, and try new methods to ensure all of my indoor plants feel safe and happy.


I've found a few essential methods are the key to a thriving houseplant in winter.


HUMIDITY

In warmer months humidity is far easier to achieve. In my greenhouse, humidity is a constant, and a big reason my plants thrive. But how do I bottle up this humidity and store it for use in my house? That's easy - get a humidifier!


Humidifiers are simple to use and can be inexpensive, making them a perfect option to create some moisture in the air. I bought mine from amazon and am so happy I did. All humidifiers are different, but when shopping around, look for one that stores enough water in the base so that it will run for as long as possible without having to refill it multiple times throughout the day. I fill mine up once in the morning before leaving for work, and once before bed time.



If you want something a bit simpler without using electricity - I also recommend using a natural stone humidifier. This is great for small spaces, and can go days without needing to be refilled!


I place the humidifier near most of my plants, so it can reach them all evenly. Which brings me to my next point - plant placement!


Grouping



When bringing my outdoor houseplants in for the winter, it's always a huge adjustment to my living space. It's something I don't really look forward to, because I typically have to move some furniture, put up a table or 2, some plant stands, etc. It's a lot of work. This is purely for lack of space in my small room. However, I've found that grouping my plants so that they are close together is actually quite beneficial in the colder months...


Grouping plants close together locks in some heat. Just like when penguins huddle in Antarctica, closeness creates warmth. Which in this case, can also create some humidity!


Let's hope all of your plants don't mind getting to know each-other up close and personal...


Grow Lights

Like humans, plants need light to survive. While pure sunlight is ideal, it's not very achievable in the winter. Supplementing a grow light from late fall to spring is key. The light will provide the extra nutrients our planties need to continue growing.


But not just any grow light - when buying a grow light make sure it fits your specific needs. I bought mine from amazon and it has a few different settings: houseplants, succulents, houseplants and succulents, and herbs. It also has a timer, which can easily be adjusted so it turns on and off automatically every day. Setting your grow light to a timed period between 9 -12 hours is ideal.


Placing your plants near a window (as long as it's not drafty or cold) is also beneficial. Remember- nobody pots baby in a dimly lit corner!







Comments


IMG_2563.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to our garden where we will be sharing new blog posts each week. Subscribe below to stay up to date on all of our plant adventures!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
bottom of page