top of page

Thrifty, thirsty, and thriving.

It's no secret the more plants you get, the more you have to water. Let's face it, some are always thirtsy. I used to grab a pack of the plastic water catchers from the dollar store any time I went because they were cheap and did the job. As my collection grew, the cheap plastic dishes just weren't as appealing. At one point I even had a bright yellow frisbee under one of my bigger plants (ha!).


Over time, I realized I wanted to add a little bit of spice to their environment. So, out with the plastic water dishes and in with the retro, cute, thrifted glassware. The one thing that did remain the same between both was how cheap they were. You don't have to spend a ton of $$$ to make your plant collection thrive. We spend enough money on our plant besties as it is so if we can save a couple bucks on pots, water catchers, soil, etc then count me in!




When it comes to thrifting, you have to keep an open mind. If you go in searching for something specific, you probably won't find it. Most of the time I don't find anything during a thrift trip but when I do, I get so giddy. I also keep in mind which plants will work best for each item. Sometimes I take an item home just hoping a plant will fit in it but usually, I try to find pieces that work with what I have. I've found wine goblets, soup dishes, and sherry glasses to name a few. Honestly the sky is the limit.




I am hoping to grow my thrifted collection. As of now, I mostly have glassware that serves as water catchers but I would like to also thrift more pots, baskets, plant stands, and even watering devices.




Follow along with my thrifted series on our Instagram page!


1 Comment


lmczech
Nov 20, 2023

This is such a great message to share!

Like
IMG_2563.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to our garden where we will be sharing new blog posts each week. Subscribe below to stay up to date on all of our plant adventures!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
bottom of page